AMS Announces 2021 History of Medicine Awardees

AMS is very pleased to announce our ten 2021 research grant and fellowship award recipients. The AMS History of Medicine and Healthcare Awards Program promotes scholarship, teaching, and public interest in history of healthcare, disease, and medicine. The Program incorporates 3 types of awards: Post-Doctoral Fellowships of $45,000, Doctoral Completion Awards of $25,000, and Project Grants of up to $10,000. These outstanding individuals, chosen by an expert review panel, will certainly enhance the scope of History of Medicine research in Canada and beyond, and act as a source of lessons that could positively shape Canadian healthcare.


Since the 1970s, and with the help of many partners, AMS Healthcare has worked to elevate the History of Medicine’s standing in the academic community and beyond. Today, the study is thriving across our country with AMS as its main source of support. Our goal is to raise interest in the topic, broaden the scope of research, and shape how the subject is taught. Funding is available to researchers, healthcare professionals, and students. The funding for the 2022 awards will open on January 20, 2022, and can be found here:

Megan Davies
Grant Awardee, York University

Deinstitutionalization in the Netherlands: A Memory Project

Jennifer Fraser
Post-Doctoral Fellowship, Vancouver Island University

Epidemiology Ad Nauseum: Risk, Reasoning and Hyperemesis Gravidarum

Peter Twohig
Grant Awardee, Saint Mary's University

The Labour of Care During COVID-19: A Long-Term Care Case Study

Helen Vandenberg
Grant Awardee, University of Saskatchewan Nursing

The History of Saskatchewan's Early Hospitals, 1873-1920


AMS works to advance a Canadian healthcare system through innovation and technology while remaining rooted in compassion and our medical history. We convene networks, develop leaders, and fund crucial activities in medical history, healthcare research, education, and clinical practice. Our work helps improve care for all Canadians.