New Postdoctoral Fellows and Doctoral Completion Grant Recipients

TORONTO, ON, October 18, 2018 – AMS is a charitable organization with more than eighty years of funding History of Medicine and Healthcare initiatives such as grants, fellowships, studentships and the prestigious Hannah Chairs at 8 Schools of Medicine in Canada.

AMS has increased our commitment to this program with the launch of the AMS Doctoral Completion Awards. We are happy to announce the winners of the inaugural Award Ms. Oana Baboi, University of Toronto and Ms. Katheryn Schweishelm, Freie Universitat Berlin.

In addition, AMS continues its support of Postdoctoral Fellowships and Project Grants administered by the Nova Scotia Health Research Foundation. The 2018 Fellowship recipients are: Dr. Alessandra Iozzo-Duval, “History IS the Method: Historical inquiry as a pedagogical tool for enhancing critical thinking in nursing education programs”, Dr. Lori Jones, “Manuscripting English Medical Knowledge in the Early Age of Print” and Dr. Matthew Wiseman, “Cold Soldiers: Medical Scientist Alan C. Burton and Military Experimentation in Cold War Canada”.

To view a complete list of current and past History of Medicine and Healthcare Fellows and grantees, including the 2018 Project Grant recipients, please visit our Grants and Fellowships page.